San Mateo County has been selected by the State Legislature as one of 14 pilot counties statewide authorized to conduct All-Mailed Ballot/Vote Center elections under SB 450, the California Voter’s Choice Act.

Voters will be able to cast their ballots by choosing one of three methods:

  1. Vote by Mail: You can vote and mail your ballot in the postage-paid return envelope on or before Election Day.
  2. Drop Off Your Voted Ballot: You can vote and return your ballot into a secure Ballot Drop Box. Ballot Drop Boxes will be located throughout San Mateo County starting 28 days before Election Day.
  3. Vote in Person at a Vote Center: Vote Centers look and feel like polling places, but provide additional services and options for voters. You can go to any Vote Center in San Mateo County to: vote on an accessible voting machine; vote on a paper ballot; access multilingual election materials and receive assistance from English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino or Korean speaking staff; drop off your ballot; receive a replacement ballot; and register to vote or update registration information through Election Day.

Four Vote Centers will be open 28 days before Election Day. Five more Vote Centers will be open 10 days before Election Day. These Vote Centers will be open on weekdays and on the two weekends before Election Day for a minimum of 8 hours per day.

Thirty additional Vote Centers will be open three days before Election Day. All Vote Centers will be open for at least nine hours daily.

On Election Day, all Vote Centers will be open from 7 A.M. to 8 P.M.